My Dad’s Death

As you may have known, my Dad has been declining in health.  In the past two weeks he has fallen twice, both times resulting in head injury.  Hospice has been providing 24-hour care.

This morning the nurse told me that signs seem to indicate that “death has started”.  I contacted my brother and sister, and we all gathered in his room for some scripture reading, prayers, and singing some old hymns.  Dad may not have sung aloud, but his lips followed the hymns word-for-word.  We left his room to let him rest at 4pm tonight, Saturday 22 December 2012.

We each went home at different times, but we all expected to return for a visit tomorrow.  That was not to be.  Dad died at 6:25pm tonight.

We, his children, are sad at his death, but thankful for his life.  We’re so grateful for the final time of worship we had together.  And we’re so glad his last days had little suffering and many kind friends.

I will post his obituary and funeral arrangements on both Facebook and my blog as soon they are complete.  I just wanted to let you know as soon as possible about Dad’s entrance into glory.

3 Comments

Filed under Family, Inside Phipps

3 responses to “My Dad’s Death

  1. Jody Collinge

    Phipps, I am sorry to hear of his death! But I am so glad that you had time to sing and share Scriptures with him. And he left quite a legacy of children who are following Christ.

    May you have Christ’s peace during this holiday season as you grieve his death yet rejoice in his life. Jody

    On Sat, Dec 22, 2012 at 8:50 PM, Phipps’ Place

  2. Praying for you and your family as you grieve his passing and rejoice his going home.

    Praising God for his godly legacy that is so evident in your life.

    Blessings Jo

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. Jodi Besecker

    So sorry for you loss. Thinking of you and your family.

Leave a Reply

